Poem #3

Dreams of Paris

A poem about my existential dreams.

Zane Fleming
2 min readMay 28, 2021

--

Photo by me circa 2013

I sleep on a mat on the floor
In a room in a house
In a city in a state
Where English is spoken
Yet night after night
I dream in French

Exiled in my homeland
After living the dream
In the City of Lights
Spent
I tried to stay
But fate had other plans

That’s okay
I live life with open hands
Six years was a good run
Tell that to my subconscious
Please dear God
Someone tell that to my subconscious

Slipping into a slumber
Me voilà de retour, Rue de Rivoli
Endless walks of breathtaking beauty
Cité Universitaire, Montmartre, la ligne A du RER
Delicieuse liberté, plaisir, jouissance
Je suis de retour, enfin…

Awake
I’ve dreamt of Paris again
Perplexed
Will it ever end?
Amused
I’ll leave that up to my muse
I’ll see her when…

--

--

Zane Fleming

Feeling overwhelmed? Find peace of mind with my new book Living, Simplified: https://amzn.to/38CBIce