Encouragement for Writers — 4 Tips

Cut through the dreaded “Writer’s Block” and punch resistance in the mouth.

Zane Fleming

--

My film photography: find me on IG @zanelovesfilm

There is something that calls me to write. It’s an urge or a prompting deep inside my head and my chest that tugs away.

“Write… C’mon, just write. Lay it out there in poetry or prose, in bullet points or essays.”

Not far behind however is what Stephen Pressfield calls “Resistance”. Cunning in it’s subtlety, it will charm me under its spell of amnesia or distraction. When I’m called to write, my soul is suddenly pulsing with divine inspiration and my eyes are full of fiery words. I am overtaken suddenly at night, at the office, or in the car and then… nothing. Words go unwritten, sentiments un-transmitted, and groundbreaking revelations unheard.

Can you relate? Let not the writer within you suffocate to death. Punch Resistance in the mouth. Here are 5 practical methods you can implement to successfully shred the veil of Resistance and let your voice be heard today.

Carry a notepad and set reminders

Hey, eyes right here please. I see you scrolling down, just looking for the “gist of it”. If you are serious about writing, pause and consider the advice deeply, and stay with me.

--

--

Zane Fleming

Feeling overwhelmed? Find peace of mind with my new book Living, Simplified: https://amzn.to/38CBIce